A Brief Introduction to Cricket

Cricket is a modern-day sport performed between teams. Each team has eleven players. The game is played on an oval or spherical formed ground which has an oblong 22 yard long pitch on the center. One staff bats to score as many runs as possible. The other team stops the run stream by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite end of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three formats of the game:

a) Test Cricket

b) One Day Cricket

c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest type of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket actually advanced with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was performed between Australia and England in the year 1876-77. The game of cricket has come an extended way since then. The principles have changed a lot. A test match is played over a interval of five days with every crew batting and bowling twice. Maximum over that may be bowled in a day is 90 while there isn’t a limit on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been played until date.

There are nine test enjoying nations which are full members of International Cricket Council – The Worldwide Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day International

Limited over cricket was introduced in England in the year 1963. Internationally, the primary limited over game was performed within the yr 1971. One game is performed in a single day. A bowler can bowl a maximum of 10 over’s in a game. In 1975, a new tournament known as World cup came into existence. All Worldwide Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a sequence of matches against each other. The winners of tournament have been termed as World Champions.

World cup is played after each 4 years. ICC has conducted 10 world cups until date. Australia became champions four instances, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The final world cup was held in the yr 2011 and was won by India.


The latest evolution in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Here, every group plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs. First worldwide Twenty-twenty game was played within the 12 months 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is played each two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international groups have played the game till date.

If you adored this article and you also would like to collect more info regarding Cricket Highlights generously visit our own web site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *